OAEA: MOMENTS IN HISTORY

1848	The Ohio State Teachers Association was formed.
1906	The Ohio Art Manual Training Teachers Association was formed.
1936	The Ohio State Teachers Association became the Ohio Education Association (OEA).
1938	The OEA Art Section met at the OEA general convention for the first conference of art teachers in Ohio. (We have met annually since that time except during the war years 1944 and 1945; and the Covid Year 2020).
1939	The first Constitution was prepared by Jean Webb and Edgar Blain – Edgar Blain was named the first President. (The Art Section met once a year during the OEA convention. The group organized with a strong focus on advocacy, working to get more Art Supervisors throughout the state. They began exhibition programs; membership drives and a newsletter).
1954	On November 12 th at the Cincinnati Convention a motion was made that the name of the OAEA Art Section be changed to the Ohio Art Education Association. There were 223 members and 201 people registered for this first Convention.
1956	At the Toledo Convention business meeting it was reported that OAEA did not have a chance to affiliate with the WWA (early NAEA) because we needed 25% of our membership to also be members of WWA; we only had 19%. Dr. Victor Lowenfeld was the keynote speaker for the Friday night banquet.
1960	The Honorary Life Membership category is established.
1963	The first OAEA Journal is published: John Michael, editor.
1966	Spring Leadership Conference initiated by Jerry Tollifson. The name changed to Spring Symposium in 1988 and continued until 2001.
1967	The first PR/Advocacy Regional representatives are named.
1969	The Youth Art Month program begins with advocacy programs.
1971	Official listing of representatives for all OAEA regions, although they are mentioned sporadically beginning in 1963.
1973	The OAEA and the Michigan Art Education Association hold a joint conference in Toledo.
1976	The first OAEA newsletter is published with six issues: James Mateer, editor.
1977	The Ohio Art Educator of the Year is established. Jerry Tollifson was named the first recipient in 1978.
1979	The first Divisional Chairpersons are named.
1980	First Outstanding Art Teacher Award.
1980	First OAEA Board of Directors meeting held at the STRS Building. This would continue until 2020 due to the Covid Pandemic.

1981	The first Youth People's Art Exhibition was held in the south wing of the Ohio State Capitol; organized by John Michael.
1983	First OAEA Distinguished Service Awards
1990	First OAEA Scholarship awarded. The OAEA was the first state art association to sponsor such a scholarship.
1990	The Ohio Art Criticism Open begins. It was later renamed in honor of Jerry Tollifson.
1991	The OAEA Distinguished Fellows is initiated.
1991	The first Ohio High School Art Exhibition hosted at the State Teachers Retirement System building: Christie and Bernard Casper organized.
1992	The first Youth Art Month Exhibition at STRS. This program is still operating.
1992	STRS Ohio Life and Times of Education exhibit and art purchase began and continued until 2003.
1992	The Circa Society is established to recognize OAEA membership beginning at 15 years.
1994	First formalized long-range completed.
1999	OAEA/STRS College Student Exhibit and Awards and continues through 2007.
1996	Jerry Tollifson named the first Ohio Department of Education Visual Art Supervisor. (The need for this position was first introduced in 1923 by Alice Robinson; in 1950 Manuel Barkan tried again – OAEA never gave up!)
1996	First OAEA Divisional Award Recipients
1996	Comprehensive Arts Education: Ohio's Competency-Based Model curriculum approved through efforts of key OAEA members and the State Department of Education. Professional development opportunities were also planned.
2001	The Ohio Art Education Foundation was established by Dr. Dennis Cannon, Dr. Nancy MacGregor and Norman Schnepf.
2001	First website unveiled.
2004	OAEA celebrated its 50 th anniversary at the Columbus Convention with the theme, "Hand, Heart, and Mind – OAEA's 50 Year Journey. The anniversary brought a complete review of the organizational structure under the leadership of Mary Golubieski.
2004	Board position to support and encourage National Board Certified Teachers and associated professional development and training developed.
2005	First Foundation Classroom Incentive grant awarded.
2007	Highest number of OAEA members – 1786: Mary T. Boll, Membership Chair.
2013	OAEA became a 501(c)3 tax exempt organization under the leadership of Suzanne Mitolo.
2015	First Foundation Enrichment grant awarded.

2016	The OAEA Fellows initiate the Summer Symposium program with a pilot program at CCAD in Columbus - Kurt Reichert, Chair.
2016	OAEA is reorganized shifting from Board of Directors to Leadership Assembly under the guidance of Laura Tawil.
2016	House of Representative Exhibit begins.
2017	Regional reorganization from 9 regions to 8 regions under Alice Tavani's leadership.
2018	Jonathan Juravich (OAEA Artline Editor) named 2018 Ohio Teacher of the Year and finalist for the national award.
2020	ED&I Initiative established under Carrie Barnett's leadership.
2022	Randy Robart Memorial Funds grants initiated.

References: OAEA History journals (1995 Vol. 33, number 1 & 2; 2001 Vol. 38, number 1 & 2; OAEA History Update 2001-07, and OAEA files.